Photograph of a drawing of Mission Carmel (San Carlos Borromeo de Carmelo), by Captain William Smyth, R.N., ca.1839. Two people sit next to a tall tree on a hill overlooking the mission. The mission has two bell towers flanking the façade of the church. To the left of the church is an arcade. Trails coming from the left and the right lead to the mission. To the right, past the road, are residential houses(?).; "The stone church at Carmel is different from all others in the chain, in that the walls taper inward forming a catenary arch, rather than the usual flat ceiling. On the exterior, the unique bell tower, with its outside stairway, shows definite Moorish influence. The great church was four years in the building, being dedicated in 1797. Father Serra now lies buried under the altar. The Indian population had dwindled by the 1820s. By 1836, two years after secularization, the destruction of mission life was complete. The church and quadrangle were essentially in ruins when the first efforts at restoration began in 1884. Then in 1931, a layman, Harry Downie, came to Carmel, as curator in charge of restoring the mission. From that time until his death in 1980, Harry dedicated his life to the California missions, working on numerous other restorations as well as at his beloved Carmel." -- unknown author.